Extend-A-Family Waterloo Region Team

Inspired by the parents who founded Extend-A-Family Waterloo Region, we believe it is important to put the person first.

Our experienced team work in a thoughtful and professional way, to serve the people we support and our community. Our innovative perspective and commitment to the work we do is at the centre of our organization.

Meet our staff, send a friendly hello, and find out more about Extend-A-Family Waterloo Region.

Board Members

Liz Hedley

board@eafwr.on.ca
Chairperson

As part of Extend-A-Family Waterloo Region’s board, Liz feels such value and worth in the hard work and commitment EAFWR has to their staff, to the families that we serve, and to the community as a whole. Sharing similar philosophy and work ethic, Extend-A-Family Waterloo Region’s commitment to advocacy, education and support in the community is of great importance.

Liz has worked in the Waterloo Region for over 25 years, both in the Development Sector, and currently at Family & Children’s Services of the Waterloo Region. For over 26 years, Liz’s interest, passion and commitment continues to focus on supporting children, youth and families in our community.

Susan Dobbie

Vice-Chairperson

Believing that Extend-A-Family Waterloo Region is a valuable asset to the community, and deeply believing in what EAFWR stands for, Susan joined the board. She wanted to be able to give back to an organization that has helped her family.

Born and raised in Cambridge, Susan currently resides there with her husband and three children. She began her professional life as a typesetter and ran a dance studio. After many years, Susan went back to school for small business accounting. In between careers, she was fortunate to be a stay-at-home wife and mother. Her youngest daughter, Mackenzie, was born with Down syndrome in 1997. Susan has been involved in school councils, the Waterloo Region Down Syndrome Society and has been an EAFWR board member since 2003. She will continue to advocate for children with disabilities in the school system and in our community.

 

Sharon McMorran

Treasurer

Sharon brings with her a wealth of knowledge and experience. A retired accountant, Sharon has held many positions with other organizations: past treasurer of YWCA Kitchener-Waterloo (Mary’s Place), past treasurer and past chair of KW Chapter of CGA Ontario, past treasurer and past chair of KidsAbility School Authority, past treasurer and current secretary of Rotary Club of Kitchener Grand River, and current managing trustee of CFUW-KW Charitable Fund.

Jeramie Gallichan

Member-At-Large

Jeramie strongly believes in giving back to the community. Joining Extend-A-Family WAterloo Region in order to contribute to the local community, Jerarmie believes in EAFWR’s commitment to inclusion, community, dignity and belonging.

Born and raised in Waterloo Region, Jeramie is a lawyer and has a general litigation practice that includes commercial litigation and employment law. He attended the University of Waterloo and earned an Honours BA in Arts, Business & Political Science degree in 2008. He completed his law degree at the UNiversity of Waterloo and was a Writing Leaders Fellow and a Teaching Assistant at the University of Ottawa Faculty of Law. He also was a National Social Justice Fellow at the Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario.

Christine Nyikos

Member-At-Large

Christine has been connected with Extend-A-Family Waterloo Region for many years, leading to her joining of the board two years ago. Her family and sister have been supported through the FamilyHome program – helping Christine’s family to fulfill their hopes and dreams of creating a full and active life for her sister in the community. Joining the Extend-A-Family Waterloo Region board has given Christine the opportunity to become part of a group of people working together to advocate for a life of belonging on behalf of individuals and their families.

Born in Kitchener-Waterloo, Christine is a teacher for the Waterloo District Catholic School Board. She is strongly committed to the values of inclusion and belonging that Extend-A-Family Waterloo Region champions.

Jamie Moffat

Member-At-Large

Jamie joined Extend-A-Family Waterloo Region’s Board of Directors in 2017. He brings with him a diverse background, including professional experience in Project Management, Recruitment and Finance/Accounting, as well as a background in the humanities, having received a BA in Religion & CUlture from Wilfrid Laurier University. While earning his MBA, Jamie provided consulting for local business owners while working for SIFE Laurier, and was a founding member of Net Impact at Laurier, a local graduate chapter of the global NFP based around sustainable practices and thinking from a humanitarian and economical perspective in business.

A designated CPA, Jamie currently manages accounting for a local general contractor. He hopes to contribute his financial and business acumen, in an effort to promote to the interests and well-being of EAFWR, and the families it serves. A resident of Waterloo Region, Jamie has embraced this community with his wife and three children, for nearly fifteen years.

Terry Aivaliotis

Member-At-Large

Terry joined Extend-A-Family Waterloo Region’s Board of Directors because he believes in giving back to the community that has supported his local family business.

Passionate and grateful for the support his family has received, Terry wanted to find a way that he could give back to EAFWR, which could be beneficial for his community, his clients, his vendors, his employees and his business. He set out with a vision, and in 2012, launched the now semi-annual “Chip-In Event” at All-Brite Glass & Tint, in support of EAFWR.

Terry Aivaliotis is the founder of All-Brite Glass & Tint, which is a local family business in Kitchener-Waterloo. All-Brite was founded in 1992 as a one-man mobile auto glass operation.

He is a regular contributor to our community, serving both past and current with the Lions Club, Family & Children’s Services of Waterloo Region (All-Brite Chip in for Kids), and Extend-A-Family Waterloo Region. His personal interest is family, business, hockey and racquet ball. He currently lives in West Montrose with his wife and their four children and two dogs.

Ankita Sheth

Member-At-Large

Kathy Mortimer

Member-At-Large

Leadership

Al Mills

ext. 222
amills@eafwr.on.ca
Executive Director

Karen Bennett

ext. 229
kbennett@eafwr.on.ca
Director of Organizational Development and Training

 

Jennifer Hanna

ext. 240
jhanna@eafwr.on.ca
Director of Human Resources

 

Cathy Meyer

ext. 225
cmeyer@eafwr.on.ca
Director of Programs

 

Niki Stevenson

ext. 233
nikis@eafwr.on.ca
Director of Programs

Administration Team

Ibrahim Aden

ext. 224
ibrahim@eafwr.on.ca
Financial Manager

 

Bea Binka

ext. 287
beab@eafwr.on.ca
Program Specialist

 

Heather Dowlling

ext. 223
heatherd@eafwr.on.ca
Executive Assistant

 

Maria Gligor

ext. 210
mgligor@eafwr.on.ca
Financial Coordinator

 

Christina Koenig

ext. 0
reception@eafwr.on.ca
Reception and Administrative Assistant

 

Brenda Langer

ext. 239
brenda@eafwr.on.ca
Payroll Coordinator

 

Ken Lemon

ext. 231
kenl@eafwr.on.ca
IT Coordinator

Community Team

Kerry Cressman

ext. 291
kcressman@eafwr.on.ca
Autism Spectrum Connection Community Coordinator
& Events Coordinator

 

Kevin Guay

ext. 315
keving@eafwr.on.ca
Recruitment Coordinator

 

Becky Klokoff

ext. 268
bklokoff@eafwr.on.ca
Special Events Coordinator

 

Annie Knight

ext. 226
aknight@eafwr.on.ca
Marketing & Communications Coordinator

 

Sarah Martin

ext. 238
smartin@eafwr.on.ca
Training and Organizational Development Coordinator

 

Michelle Scala

ext. 253
mscala@eafwr.on.ca
Recruitment and Volunteer Coordinator

 

Kim Sproul

ext. 247
ksproul@eafwr.on.ca
Program Manager, Community Development

 

Kate Swift

ext. 302
kates@eafwr.on.ca
Opportunities Development Coordinator

 

Eli Winterfeld

ext. 262
eliw@eafwr.on.ca
Community Development Connector

Coordinators

Jeff Barber

ext. 237
jeffb@eafwr.on.ca
Program Manager, Respite

 

Katie Beatty

ext. 232
katieb@eafwr.on.ca
Support Coordinator

 

Michelle Boismier

ext. 249
michelleb@eafwr.on.ca
Program Manager, FamilyHome

 

Samara de Boer

ext. 227
sdeboer@eafwr.on.ca
Support Coordinator

 

Denise Dietrich-Lelievre

ext. 228
denisedl@eafwr.on.ca
Program Manager, Special Services at Home & Intake

Liz Flewwelling

ext. 223
lflewwelling@eafwr.on.ca
Program Manager, Passport – See Jill Swanton for current Program Manager, Passport
(One year MSW leave)

 

Katie Hagedorn

ext. 248
khagedorn@eafwr.on.ca
FamilyHome Coordinator

 

Vicki Hartman

ext. 230
vickih@eafwr.on.ca
Support Coordinator

 

Courtney Horowitz

ext. 264
chorowitz@eafwr.on.ca
Support Coordinator

 

Avishka Juta

ext. 226
avishka@eafwr.on.ca
Marketing and Communications Coordinator

 

Kimberly Little

ext. 234
klittle@eafwr.on.ca
Program Manager, Medically Fragile, Technologically Dependent & CCAC

 

Terral McBay

ext. 235
terral@eafwr.on.ca
FamilyHome Coordinator

 

Laura McIlravey

ext. 299
lmcilravey@eafwr.on.ca
Support Coordinator

 

Kelly McMillan

ext. 242
kmcmillan@eafwr.on.ca
ISP Coordinator

 

Angel Moran

ext. 243
angelm@eafwr.on.ca
ISP Coordinator

 

Danielle Paquette

ext. 245
dpaquette@eafwr.on.ca
Support Coordinator

 

Ben Sauder

ext. 290
bsauder@eafwr.on.ca
Support Coordinator

 

Kathleen Slofstra

ext. 246
kathleens@eafwr.on.ca
Support Coordinator

 

Janine Stanic

ext. 351
jstanic@eafwr.on.ca
Support Coordinator

 

Jill Swanton

ext. 301
jswanton@eafwr.on.ca
Program Manager, Passport

 

Erin Toner

ext. 292
etoner@eafwr.on.ca
FamilyHome Coordinator

W.A.L.E.S.

Andrew Owen

ext. 303
andrew@eafwr.on.ca
Program Manager, Working Adults Learning Empowering Skills (WALES)

 

Brianna Gaebel

ext. 305
bgaebel@eafwr.on.ca
Community Facilitator

 

Cheryl Fuller

ext. 314
cfuller@eafwr.on.ca
Community Facilitator

 

Desiree Hinsperger

ext. 309
dhinsperger@eafwr.on.ca
Community Facilitator

 

Haela Von Hatten-Baer

ext. 307
haela@eafwr.on.ca
Community Facilitator

 

Julie Mainland

ext. 306
jmainland@eafwr.on.ca
Community Facilitator