Extend-A-Family Waterloo Region Team

Inspired by the parents who founded Extend-A-Family Waterloo Region, we believe it is important to put the person first.

Our experienced team work in a thoughtful and professional way, to serve the people we support and our community. Our innovative perspective and commitment to the work we do is at the centre of our organization.

Meet our staff, send a friendly hello, and find out more about Extend-A-Family Waterloo Region.

Board Members

Liz Hedley

board@eafwr.on.ca
Chairperson

As part of Extend-A-Family Waterloo Region’s board, Liz feels such value and worth in the hard work and commitment EAFWR has to their staff, to the families that we serve, and to the community as a whole. Sharing similar philosophy and work ethic, Extend-A-Family Waterloo Region’s commitment to advocacy, education and support in the community is of great importance.

Liz has worked in the Waterloo Region for over 25 years, both in the Development Sector, and currently at Family & Children’s Services of the Waterloo Region. For over 26 years, Liz’s interest, passion and commitment continues to focus on supporting children, youth and families in our community.

 

Kathy Mortimer

Vice-Chair

Inspired at a young age by her Aunt Shirley, an advocate for disability rights and board member of KW AccessAbility in the 1970s, Kathy has been actively involved with community-oriented organizations for most of her life. She has served on the Ebytown Food Co-op board in Waterloo, the Quebec Public Interest Research Group board in Montreal, and the Toronto Bay Initiative board.

Kathy’s first interaction with Extend-A-Family Waterloo Region started shortly after moving into the neighbourhood near the EAFWR office. Kathy was offering a LEGO program, and needed space – fortunately, an EAFWR Community Development Connector heard about it, the program was opened to WALES participants, and so it began! Such partnerships are one of the important ways EAFWR builds community and relationships, to the benefit of all partners.

Terry Aivaliotis

Secretary

Terry joined Extend-A-Family Waterloo Region’s Board of Directors because he believes in giving back to the community that has supported his local family business.

Passionate and grateful for the support his family has received, Terry wanted to find a way that he could give back to EAFWR, which could be beneficial for his community, his clients, his vendors, his employees and his business. He set out with a vision, and in 2012, launched the now semi-annual “Chip-In Event” at All-Brite Glass & Tint, in support of EAFWR.

Terry Aivaliotis is the founder of All-Brite Glass & Tint, which is a local family business in Kitchener-Waterloo. All-Brite was founded in 1992 as a one-man mobile auto glass operation.

He is a regular contributor to our community, serving both past and current with the Lions Club, Family & Children’s Services of Waterloo Region (All-Brite Chip in for Kids), and Extend-A-Family Waterloo Region. His personal interest is family, business, hockey and racquet ball. He currently lives in West Montrose with his wife and their four children and two dogs.

 

Jamie Moffat

Treasurer

Jamie joined Extend-A-Family Waterloo Region’s Board of Directors in 2017. He brings with him a diverse background, including professional experience in Project Management, Recruitment and Finance/Accounting, as well as a background in the humanities, having received a BA in Religion & CUlture from Wilfrid Laurier University. While earning his MBA, Jamie provided consulting for local business owners while working for SIFE Laurier, and was a founding member of Net Impact at Laurier, a local graduate chapter of the global NFP based around sustainable practices and thinking from a humanitarian and economical perspective in business.

A designated CPA, Jamie currently manages accounting for a local general contractor. He hopes to contribute his financial and business acumen, in an effort to promote to the interests and well-being of EAFWR, and the families it serves. A resident of Waterloo Region, Jamie has embraced this community with his wife and three children, for nearly fifteen years.

Jeramie Gallichan

Member-At-Large

Jeramie strongly believes in giving back to the community. Joining Extend-A-Family WAterloo Region in order to contribute to the local community, Jerarmie believes in EAFWR’s commitment to inclusion, community, dignity and belonging.

Born and raised in Waterloo Region, Jeramie is a lawyer and has a general litigation practice that includes commercial litigation and employment law. He attended the University of Waterloo and earned an Honours BA in Arts, Business & Political Science degree in 2008. He completed his law degree at the UNiversity of Waterloo and was a Writing Leaders Fellow and a Teaching Assistant at the University of Ottawa Faculty of Law. He also was a National Social Justice Fellow at the Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario.

 

Daisy Martin

Member-At-Large

 

Caitlin Garcia

Member-At-Large

 

Devon Fernandes

Member-At-Large

 

Veera Vyas

Member-At-Large

 

Megan Dobbie

Member-At-Large

 

Tomasina Channer

Member-At-Large

 

Doreen Weise

Member-At-Large

 

Allan Mills

Executive Director, Ex-Officio Member

 

Heather Dowling

Recording Secretary

Leadership

Al Mills

ext. 222
amills@eafwr.on.ca
Executive Director

Karen Bennett

ext. 229
kbennett@eafwr.on.ca
Director of Organizational Development and Training

 

Jennifer Hanna

ext. 240
jhanna@eafwr.on.ca
Director of Human Resources

 

Cathy Meyer

ext. 225
cmeyer@eafwr.on.ca
Director of Programs

 

Niki Stevenson

ext. 233
nikis@eafwr.on.ca
Director of Programs

Administration Team

Ibrahim Aden

ext. 224
ibrahim@eafwr.on.ca
Financial Manager

 

Bea Binka

ext. 287
beab@eafwr.on.ca
Program Specialist

 

Heather Dowling

ext. 223
heatherd@eafwr.on.ca
Executive Assistant

 

Maria Gligor

ext. 210
mgligor@eafwr.on.ca
Financial Coordinator

 

Christina Koenig

ext. 0
reception@eafwr.on.ca
Reception and Administrative Assistant

 

Brenda Langer

ext. 239
brenda@eafwr.on.ca
Payroll Coordinator

 

Ken Lemon

ext. 231
kenl@eafwr.on.ca
IT Coordinator

Community Team

Kerry Cressman

ext. 291
kcressman@eafwr.on.ca
Autism Spectrum Connection Community Coordinator
& Events Coordinator

 

Cheryl Fuller

ext. 238
cfuller@eafwr.on.ca
Training and Organizational Development Coordinator

Kevin Guay

ext. 315
keving@eafwr.on.ca
Recruitment Coordinator

 

Avishka Juta

ext. 226
avishka@eafwr.on.ca
Marketing and Communications Coordinator

 

Becky Klokoff

ext. 268
bklokoff@eafwr.on.ca
Special Events Coordinator

 

Michelle Scala

ext. 253
mscala@eafwr.on.ca
Recruitment and Volunteer Coordinator

 

Kim Sproul

ext. 247
ksproul@eafwr.on.ca
Program Manager, Community Development

 

Kate Swift

ext. 302
kates@eafwr.on.ca
Opportunities Development Coordinator

 

Eli Winterfeld

ext. 262
eliw@eafwr.on.ca
Community Development Connector

Coordinators

Jeff Barber

ext. 237
jeffb@eafwr.on.ca
Program Manager, Short Breaks & Summer Program

 

Michelle Boismier

ext. 249
michelleb@eafwr.on.ca
Program Manager, FamilyHome

 

Samara de Boer

ext. 227
sdeboer@eafwr.on.ca
Support Coordinator

 

Denise Dietrich-Lelievre

ext. 228
denisedl@eafwr.on.ca
Program Manager, Special Services at Home & Intake

Liz Flewwelling

ext. 243
lizf@eafwr.on.ca
Program Manager, Passport

 

Katie Hagedorn

ext. 248
khagedorn@eafwr.on.ca
FamilyHome Coordinator

 

Vicki Hartman

ext. 230
vickih@eafwr.on.ca
Support Coordinator

 

Courtney Horowitz

chorowitz@eafwr.on.ca
Support Coordinator

 

Kimberly Little

ext. 234
klittle@eafwr.on.ca
Program Manager, Medically Fragile, Technologically Dependent & CCAC

 

Masrra Lwis

ext. 299
masrral@eafwr.on.ca
Support Coordinator

 

Lauren Mark

ext. 232
laurenm@eafwr.on.ca
Support Coordinator

 

Terral McBay

ext. 235
terral@eafwr.on.ca
FamilyHome Coordinator

 

Danielle Paquette

ext. 245
dpaquette@eafwr.on.ca
Support Coordinator

 

Alexis Pite

ext. 264
alexisp@eafwr.on.ca
Support Coordinator

 

Ben Sauder

ext. 290
bsauder@eafwr.on.ca
Support Coordinator

 

Kathleen Slofstra

ext. 246
kathleens@eafwr.on.ca
Support Coordinator

 

Amal Shire

ext. 242
amals@eafwr.on.ca
Support Coordinator

 

Janine Stanic

ext. 351
jstanic@eafwr.on.ca
Support Coordinator

 

Jill Swanton

ext. 301
jswanton@eafwr.on.ca
Support Coordinator

 

Erin Toner

ext. 292
etoner@eafwr.on.ca
FamilyHome Coordinator

W.A.L.E.S.

Andrew Owen

ext. 303
andrew@eafwr.on.ca
Program Manager, Working Adults Learning Empowering Skills (WALES)

 

Brianna Gaebel

ext. 305
bgaebel@eafwr.on.ca
Community Facilitator

 

Desiree Hinsperger

ext. 309
dhinsperger@eafwr.on.ca
Community Facilitator

 

Haela Von Hatten-Baer

ext. 307
haela@eafwr.on.ca
Community Facilitator (On maternity leave)

 

Julie Mainland

ext. 306
jmainland@eafwr.on.ca
Community Facilitator

Chantelle Mann

ext. 314
chantellem@eafwr.on.ca
Community Facilitator

Gryphon Sibbald

ext. 307
gryphons@eafwr.on.ca
Community Facilitator