Extend-A-Family Waterloo Region Team

Inspired by the parents who founded Extend-A-Family Waterloo Region, we believe it is important to put the person first.

Our experienced team work in a thoughtful and professional way, to serve the people we support and our community. Our innovative perspective and commitment to the work we do is at the centre of our organization.

Meet our staff, send a friendly hello, and find out more about Extend-A-Family Waterloo Region.

Board Members

Liz Hedley

board@eafwr.on.ca
Chairperson

As part of Extend-A-Family Waterloo Region’s board, Liz feels such value and worth in the hard work and commitment EAFWR has to their staff, to the families that we serve, and to the community as a whole. Sharing similar philosophy and work ethic, Extend-A-Family Waterloo Region’s commitment to advocacy, education and support in the community is of great importance.

Liz has worked in the Waterloo Region for over 25 years, both in the Development Sector, and currently at Family & Children’s Services of the Waterloo Region. For over 26 years, Liz’s interest, passion and commitment continues to focus on supporting children, youth and families in our community.

 

Kathy Mortimer

Vice-Chair

Inspired at a young age by her Aunt Shirley, an advocate for disability rights and board member of KW AccessAbility in the 1970s, Kathy has been actively involved with community-oriented organizations for most of her life. She has served on the Ebytown Food Co-op board in Waterloo, the Quebec Public Interest Research Group board in Montreal, and the Toronto Bay Initiative board.

Kathy’s first interaction with Extend-A-Family Waterloo Region started shortly after moving into the neighbourhood near the EAFWR office. Kathy was offering a LEGO program, and needed space – fortunately, an EAFWR Community Development Connector heard about it, the program was opened to WALES participants, and so it began! Such partnerships are one of the important ways EAFWR builds community and relationships, to the benefit of all partners.

 

Jamie Moffat

Treasurer

Jamie joined Extend-A-Family Waterloo Region’s Board of Directors in 2017. He brings with him a diverse background, including professional experience in Project Management, Recruitment and Finance/Accounting, as well as a background in the humanities, having received a BA in Religion & CUlture from Wilfrid Laurier University. While earning his MBA, Jamie provided consulting for local business owners while working for SIFE Laurier, and was a founding member of Net Impact at Laurier, a local graduate chapter of the global NFP based around sustainable practices and thinking from a humanitarian and economical perspective in business.

A designated CPA, Jamie currently manages accounting for a local general contractor. He hopes to contribute his financial and business acumen, in an effort to promote to the interests and well-being of EAFWR, and the families it serves. A resident of Waterloo Region, Jamie has embraced this community with his wife and three children, for nearly fifteen years.

 

Jeramie Gallichan

Member-At-Large

Jeramie strongly believes in giving back to the community. Joining Extend-A-Family WAterloo Region in order to contribute to the local community, Jerarmie believes in EAFWR’s commitment to inclusion, community, dignity and belonging.

Born and raised in Waterloo Region, Jeramie is a lawyer and has a general litigation practice that includes commercial litigation and employment law. He attended the University of Waterloo and earned an Honours BA in Arts, Business & Political Science degree in 2008. He completed his law degree at the UNiversity of Waterloo and was a Writing Leaders Fellow and a Teaching Assistant at the University of Ottawa Faculty of Law. He also was a National Social Justice Fellow at the Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario.

 

Daisy Martin

Member-At-Large

Daisy joined Extend-A-Family Waterloo Region’s Board of Directors in 2018. She wanted to contribute to a community that has embraced her family by giving back to an organization she feels embodies the values she is passionate about – community, inclusion and dignity for all.

Daisy has her Bachelors of Mathematics from the University of Waterloo and has her Project Management Professional (PMP) accreditation.  She has been active in the community through various roles, including champion United Way within her work place, Co-chair to the Hope Spring Dinner event, events Chair for the local PMP chapter and Global Women’s Alliance Professional Development Chair at work.

She and her family have been a part of the KW community over the past 21 years and is proud to call KW home.

 

Caitlin Garcia

Member-At-Large

 

Devon Fernandes

Member-At-Large

Since the first day he started worked alongside Extend-A-Family Waterloo Region to co-found the KW Library of Things, Devon has develop a strong appreciation for how community-based organizations can address complex social issues. Devon has served on the Board of the Laurier Students’ Public Interest Research Group, and continues to find ways demonstrate his commitment to inclusion, community, dignity and belonging.

Devon earned his Master’s in Community Psychology from Wilfrid Laurier University and is currently working as Humber College’s Sustainability Specialist.

 

Veera Vyas

Member-At-Large

 

Megan Dobbie

Member-At-Large

 

Tomasina Channer

Member-At-Large

Tomasina joined Extend-A-Family Waterloo Region’s Board of Directors in 2018. Living in the region for the past 20 years with her husband and three children, Extend-A-Family Waterloo Region was there when her family received the autism diagnosis of her daughter providing assistance when there seemed to be more questions than answers.

Tomasina brings over 15 years of management experience from the Contact Centre Industry as well as Director level positions with both Sun Life and Manulife. Tomasina wanted to leverage both her personal and professional experience in support of EAFWR, an organization that helps so many as it strives to bring inclusion and awareness to the community.

 

Doreen Weise

Member-At-Large

Doreen joined the EAFWR Board of Directors in the fall of 2018. Her sister-in-law, Jenny, has been supported by EAFWR since its inception in 1981. Through EAFWR services and supports, Jenny contributes to her community, develops and maintains personal connections, and lives her life with dignity. Doreen was inspired to join the Board through her experiences with her family, as well as attending various EAFWR fundraising events over the years. She is honoured to be part of an organization that strives to ensure inclusion and acceptance for everyone.

Doreen works at Wilfrid Laurier University in the Psychology department, as Human Ethics Coordinator, Lab Coordinator, and Statistics & Research Methods Instructor. She is involved in various committees at Wilfrid Laurier University and is a member of the Parent Council at Sir Edgar Bauer Catholic School. Doreen is an avid runner and enjoys travelling to warm destinations (often connected to running events). She has two beautiful children, a supportive husband, and two cuddly dogs.

 

Allan Mills

Executive Director, Ex-Officio Member

 

Heather Dowling

Recording Secretary

Leadership

Al Mills

ext. 222
allan.mills@eafwr.on.ca
Executive Director

Karen Bennett

ext. 229
karen.bennett@eafwr.on.ca
Director of Organizational Development and Training

 

Lorri Detta

ext. 224
lorri.detta@eafwr.on.ca
Director of Finance and Human Resources

 

Ron Trajano

ext. 225
ron.trajano@eafwr.on.ca
Director of Programs

Administration Team

Bea Binka

ext. 287
bea.binka@eafwr.on.ca
Program Specialist

 

Heather Dowling

ext. 223
heather.dowling@eafwr.on.ca
Executive Assistant

 

Maria Gligor

ext. 210
maria.gligor@eafwr.on.ca
Financial Coordinator

 

Courtney Horowitz

ext. 263
courtney.horowitz@eafwr.on.ca
Manager, Special Projects

 

Christina Koenig

ext. 0
reception@eafwr.on.ca
Reception and Administrative Assistant

 

Brenda Langer

ext. 239
brenda.langer@eafwr.on.ca
Payroll Coordinator

 

Ken Lemon

ext. 231
ken.lemon@eafwr.on.ca
IT Manager

Community Team

Kerry Cressman

ext. 291
kerry.cressman@eafwr.on.ca
Autism Spectrum Connection Website Coordinator
& Special Events Coordinator

 

Ashley Densa

ext. 265
ashley.densa@eafwr.on.ca
Recruitment Coordinator

 

Cheryl Fuller

ext. 238
cheryl.fuller@eafwr.on.ca
Training and Organizational Development Coordinator

 

Kevin Guay

ext. 240
kevin.guay@eafwr.on.ca
Human Resources Manager

 

Avishka Juta

ext. 226
avishka.juta@eafwr.on.ca
Marketing and Communications Coordinator

 

Becky Klokoff

ext. 268
becky.klokoff@eafwr.on.ca
Special Events Coordinator

 

Michelle Scala

ext. 253
michelle.scala@eafwr.on.ca
Recruitment and Volunteer Coordinator

 

Kim Sproul

ext. 247
kim.sproul@eafwr.on.ca
Program Manager, Community Development

 

Kate Swift

ext. 302
kates@eafwr.on.ca
Opportunities Development Manager

 

Coordinators

Sanjay Bhaskar

ext. 351
sanjay.bhaskar@eafwr.on.ca
Support Coordinator

 

Michelle Boismier

ext. 249
michelle.boismier@eafwr.on.ca
Program Manager, FamilyHome

 

Samara de Boer

ext. 227
samara.deboer@eafwr.on.ca
Support Coordinator

 

Denise Dietrich-Lelievre

ext. 228
denise.dietrich-lelievre@eafwr.on.ca
Program Manager, Special Services at Home & Intake

Liz Flewwelling

ext. 243
liz.flewwelling@eafwr.on.ca
Program Manager, Passport

 

Katie Hagedorn

ext. 248
katie.hagedorn@eafwr.on.ca
FamilyHome Coordinator

 

Vicki Hartman

ext. 230
vicki.hartman@eafwr.on.ca
Support Coordinator

 

 

Kimberly Little

ext. 234
kimberly.little@eafwr.on.ca
Program Manager, Medically Fragile, Technologically Dependent & CCAC

 

Masrra Lwis

ext. 299
masrra.lwis@eafwr.on.ca
Support Coordinator

 

Chantelle Mann

ext. 270
chantelle.mann@eafwr.on.ca
Support Coordinator

 

Lauren Mark

ext. 232
lauren.mark@eafwr.on.ca
Support Coordinator

 

Terral McBay

ext. 235
terral.mcbay@eafwr.on.ca
FamilyHome Coordinator

 

Danielle Paquette

ext. 245
danielle.paquette@eafwr.on.ca
Support Coordinator

 

Alexis Pite

ext. 264
alexis.pite@eafwr.on.ca
Support Coordinator

 

Ben Sauder

ext. 290
ben.sauder@eafwr.on.ca
Support Coordinator

 

Amal Shire

ext. 242
amal.shire@eafwr.on.ca
Support Coordinator

 

Janine Stanic

ext. 351
janine.stanic@eafwr.on.ca
Support Coordinator

 

Jill Swanton

ext. 301
jill.swanton@eafwr.on.ca
Support Coordinator

 

Erin Toner

ext. 292
erin.toner@eafwr.on.ca
FamilyHome Coordinator

W.A.L.E.S.

Andrew Owen

ext. 303
andrew.owen@eafwr.on.ca
Program Manager, Working Adults Learning Empowering Skills (WALES)

 

Brianna Gaebel

ext. 305
brianna.gaebel@eafwr.on.ca
Community Facilitator

 

Desiree Hinsperger

ext. 309
desiree.hinsperger@eafwr.on.ca
Community Facilitator

 

 

Julie Mainland

ext. 306
julie.mainland@eafwr.on.ca
Community Facilitator

Gryphon Sibbald

ext. 307
gryphon.sibbald@eafwr.on.ca
Community Facilitator