Extend-A-Family Waterloo Region Team

Inspired by the parents who founded Extend-A-Family Waterloo Region, we believe it is important to put the person first.

Our experienced team work in a thoughtful and professional way, to serve the people we support and our community. Our innovative perspective and commitment to the work we do is at the centre of our organization.

Meet our staff, send a friendly hello, and find out more about Extend-A-Family Waterloo Region.

Board Members

Liz Hedley

Chairperson

As part of Extend-A-Family Waterloo Region’s board, Liz feels such value and worth in the hard work and commitment EAFWR has to their staff, to the families that we serve, and to the community as a whole. Sharing similar philosophy and work ethic, Extend-A-Family Waterloo Region’s commitment to advocacy, education and support in the community is of great importance.

Liz has worked in the Waterloo Region for over 25 years, both in the Development Sector, and currently at Family & Children’s Services of the Waterloo Region. For over 26 years, Liz’s interest, passion and commitment continues to focus on supporting children, youth and families in our community.

 

Kathy Mortimer

Vice-Chair

Inspired at a young age by her Aunt Shirley, an advocate for disability rights and board member of KW AccessAbility in the 1970s, Kathy has been actively involved with community-oriented organizations for most of her life. She has served on the Ebytown Food Co-op board in Waterloo, the Quebec Public Interest Research Group board in Montreal, and the Toronto Bay Initiative board.

Kathy’s first interaction with Extend-A-Family Waterloo Region started shortly after moving into the neighbourhood near the EAFWR office. Kathy was offering a LEGO program, and needed space – fortunately, an EAFWR Community Development Connector heard about it, the program was opened to WALES participants, and so it began! Such partnerships are one of the important ways EAFWR builds community and relationships, to the benefit of all partners.

 

Caitlin Garcia

Treasurer

Jamie joined Extend-A-Family Waterloo Region’s Board of Directors in 2017. He brings with him a diverse background, including professional experience in Project Management, Recruitment and Finance/Accounting, as well as a background in the humanities, having received a BA in Religion & CUlture from Wilfrid Laurier University. While earning his MBA, Jamie provided consulting for local business owners while working for SIFE Laurier, and was a founding member of Net Impact at Laurier, a local graduate chapter of the global NFP based around sustainable practices and thinking from a humanitarian and economical perspective in business.

A designated CPA, Jamie currently manages accounting for a local general contractor. He hopes to contribute his financial and business acumen, in an effort to promote to the interests and well-being of EAFWR, and the families it serves. A resident of Waterloo Region, Jamie has embraced this community with his wife and three children, for nearly fifteen years.

 

Tomasina Channer

Secretary

Tomasina joined Extend-A-Family Waterloo Region’s Board of Directors in 2018. Living in the region for the past 20 years with her husband and three children, Extend-A-Family Waterloo Region was there when her family received the autism diagnosis of her daughter providing assistance when there seemed to be more questions than answers.

Tomasina brings over 15 years of management experience from the Contact Centre Industry as well as Director level positions with both Sun Life and Manulife. Tomasina wanted to leverage both her personal and professional experience in support of EAFWR, an organization that helps so many as it strives to bring inclusion and awareness to the community.

 

Jeramie Gallichan

Director

Jeramie strongly believes in giving back to the community. Joining Extend-A-Family WAterloo Region in order to contribute to the local community, Jerarmie believes in EAFWR’s commitment to inclusion, community, dignity and belonging.

Born and raised in Waterloo Region, Jeramie is a lawyer and has a general litigation practice that includes commercial litigation and employment law. He attended the University of Waterloo and earned an Honours BA in Arts, Business & Political Science degree in 2008. He completed his law degree at the UNiversity of Waterloo and was a Writing Leaders Fellow and a Teaching Assistant at the University of Ottawa Faculty of Law. He also was a National Social Justice Fellow at the Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario.

 

Chris Letizi

Director

A community builder for over ten years in the Stanley Park Community, Chris has gained experience in community leadership, bringing people together, empowering others and working with individuals from various backgrounds. Chris has lived experience working with individuals with disabilities, through his work with Carizon Family and Community Services, Extend-A-Family and Child and Family Services, as well as supporting his daughter who has Muscular Dystrophy and Scoliosis.

Chris has over 10 years of experience serving on Board of Directors, and through volunteer and paid experience has a knowledge of fundraising, program planning and administrative tasks. Chris is also experienced with supporting and developing policy and strategies, most notably the development of the City of Kitchener’s Neighbourhood Strategy.

Chris has his professional designation in Volunteer Administration and has completed the Volunteer Management Course at Conestoga College. Chris obtained his Bachelor of Arts (Honours) in Social Development from the University of Waterloo and specializations in Legal Studies and Criminology, as well as a diploma in Social Work Studies from Renison College.

 

Daisy Martin

Director

Daisy joined Extend-A-Family Waterloo Region’s Board of Directors in 2018. She wanted to contribute to a community that has embraced her family by giving back to an organization she feels embodies the values she is passionate about – community, inclusion and dignity for all.

Daisy has her Bachelors of Mathematics from the University of Waterloo and has her Project Management Professional (PMP) accreditation.  She has been active in the community through various roles, including champion United Way within her work place, Co-chair to the Hope Spring Dinner event, events Chair for the local PMP chapter and Global Women’s Alliance Professional Development Chair at work.

She and her family have been a part of the KW community over the past 21 years and is proud to call KW home.

 

Devon Fernandes

Director

Since the first day he started worked alongside Extend-A-Family Waterloo Region to co-found the KW Library of Things, Devon has develop a strong appreciation for how community-based organizations can address complex social issues. Devon has served on the Board of the Laurier Students’ Public Interest Research Group, and continues to find ways demonstrate his commitment to inclusion, community, dignity and belonging.

Devon earned his Master’s in Community Psychology from Wilfrid Laurier University and is currently working as Humber College’s Sustainability Specialist.

 

Jamie Moffat

Director

Jamie joined Extend-A-Family Waterloo Region’s Board of Directors in 2017. He brings with him a diverse background, including professional experience in Project Management, Recruitment and Finance/Accounting, as well as a background in the humanities, having received a BA in Religion & Culture from Wilfrid Laurier University. While earning his MBA, Jamie provided consulting for local business owners while working for SIFE Laurier, and was a founding member of Net Impact at Laurier, a local graduate chapter of the global NFP based around sustainable practices and thinking from a humanitarian and economical perspective in business.

A designated CPA, Jamie currently manages accounting for a local general contractor. He hopes to contribute his financial and business acumen, in an effort to promote to the interests and well-being of EAFWR, and the families it serves. A resident of Waterloo Region, Jamie has embraced this community with his wife and three children, for nearly fifteen years.

 

Nancy Murdoch

Director

Nancy spent most of her career (17 years) in crisis assessment and intervention with Family and Children Services of Waterloo Region. Most recently, Nancy worked in coaching child protection staff and advocates in Texas on how to engage with vulnerable families. Nancy and her family have also volunteered with the National Service Dogs, raising a puppy for a child with Autism.

Nancy is committed to giving back to the community in a meaningful way by providing her experience and passion to EAFWR. This experience included working with children and families with concerns ranged from homelessness, struggles coping with mental health, and various challenges related to being new to Canada.

Nancy’s professional learnings have included Equity and Diversity-Anti-Oppressive Practice, Trauma and Attachment, Aboriginal-Alternative Dispute Resolution, Violence against Women, High Conflict and Signs of Safety Training.

 

Ryan Voisin

Director

Personally and professional, Ryan is a strong and passionate community-builder who believes in celebrating every individual’s unique contributions and achievements. Committed to community-building, Ryan works every day to create safe and inclusive spaces for productive and transformational dialogue. With strong facilitation and strategic thinking as a foundation, Ryan uses humour, creativity, and insight to help individuals and groups move forward collaboratively.

Ryan supports a father who lost the ability to walk unaided over ten years ago, and a mother diagnosed with amnesia three years ago as a result of an acquired brain injury. Ryan believes that it is “one’s environment and not abilities that create a disability”.

Ryan is the Director of Overlap’s Innovation Programs, whose proficiencies include human-centered design competencies rooted in empathy, applying foresight/futures methodologies for long-term planning, transforming organizational culture and design, including executive coaching, group facilitation and mediation, IT, strategic advocacy planning and relationship management.

Yousef El-rayani

Director

A devoted and dedicated father with lived experience, Yousef is committed to the KW community, always striving to do more and give back. Yousef participated in our Strategic Plan Focus Group held on February 1, 2019, and has been a strong supporter of EAFWR and the developmental services community.

Yousef is a professional engineer with diversified experience. He has a Ph.D. in Power and Energy System Engineering and is a Master of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering. Yousef has worked as a Research Assistant and has also been self-employed, owning his own consulting business.

Leadership

Al Mills

ext. 222
allan.mills@eafwr.on.ca
Executive Director

Ron Trajano

ext. 225
ron.trajano@eafwr.on.ca
Director of Services

Courtney Horowitz

ext. 263
courtney.horowitz@eafwr.on.ca
Director of Operations

Administration Team

Bea Binka

ext. 287
bea.binka@eafwr.on.ca
Program Specialist

 

Heather Dowling

ext. 223
heather.dowling@eafwr.on.ca
Executive Assistant

 

Maria Gligor

ext. 210
maria.gligor@eafwr.on.ca
Financial Coordinator

 

Christina Koenig

ext. 0
reception@eafwr.on.ca
Reception and Administrative Assistant

 

Ken Lemon

ext. 231
ken.lemon@eafwr.on.ca
IT Manager

Community Development Team

Kim Sproul

ext. 247
kim.sproul@eafwr.on.ca
Program Manager, Community Development

 

Community Engagement Team

Kerry Cressman

ext. 291
kerry.cressman@eafwr.on.ca
Community Engagement and Event Specialist

 

Avishka Juta

ext. 226
avishka.juta@eafwr.on.ca
Community Engagement and Communications Specialist

 

Becky Klokoff

ext. 268
becky.klokoff@eafwr.on.ca
Community Engagement & Event Specialist

Coordinators

Katie Beatty

katie.beatty@eafwr.on.ca
Support Coordinator


Sanjay Bhaskar

ext. 351
sanjay.bhaskar@eafwr.on.ca
Support Coordinator

 

Samara de Boer

ext. 227
samara.deboer@eafwr.on.ca
Support Coordinator

 

Rebecca Fowlie

ext. 246
rebecca.fowlie@eafwr.on.ca
Support Coordinator

 

Katie Hagedorn

ext. 248
katie.hagedorn@eafwr.on.ca
FamilyHome Coordinator

 

Vicki Hartman

ext. 230
vicki.hartman@eafwr.on.ca
Support Coordinator

 

Chantelle Mann

ext. 270
chantelle.mann@eafwr.on.ca
Support Coordinator

 

Lauren Mark

ext. 232
lauren.mark@eafwr.on.ca
Support Coordinator

 

Terral McBay

ext. 235
terral.mcbay@eafwr.on.ca
FamilyHome Coordinator

 

Danielle Paquette

ext. 245
danielle.paquette@eafwr.on.ca
Support Coordinator

 

Alexis Pite

ext. 264
alexis.pite@eafwr.on.ca
Support Coordinator

 

Ben Sauder

ext. 290
ben.sauder@eafwr.on.ca
Support Coordinator

 

Amal Shire

ext. 242
amal.shire@eafwr.on.ca
Support Coordinator

 

Jill Swanton

ext. 301
jill.swanton@eafwr.on.ca
Support Coordinator

 

Erin Toner

ext. 292
erin.toner@eafwr.on.ca
FamilyHome Coordinator

Program Managers

Michelle Boismier

ext. 249
michelle.boismier@eafwr.on.ca
Program Manager, FamilyHome

Denise Dietrich-Lelievre

ext. 228
denise.dietrich-lelievre@eafwr.on.ca
Program Manager, Special Services at Home & Intake

Kimberly Little

ext. 234
kimberly.little@eafwr.on.ca
Program Manager, Medically Fragile, Technologically Dependent (MFTD) & LHIN

Liz Flewwelling

ext. 243
liz.flewwelling@eafwr.on.ca
Program Manager, Passport

Recruitment and Training

Ashley Densa

ext. 265
ashley.densa@eafwr.on.ca
Recruitment Coordinator

Cheryl Fuller

ext. 238
cheryl.fuller@eafwr.on.ca
Training and Organizational Development Coordinator


Kevin Guay

ext. 240
kevin.guay@eafwr.on.ca
Human Resources Manager

Michelle Scala

ext. 253
michelle.scala@eafwr.on.ca
Recruitment and Volunteer Coordinator

W.A.L.E.S.

Andrew Owen

ext. 303
andrew.owen@eafwr.on.ca
Program Manager, Working Adults Learning Empowering Skills (WALES)

 

Brianna Gaebel

ext. 305
brianna.gaebel@eafwr.on.ca
Community Facilitator

Haela Von Hatten-Baer

ext. 314
haela.vonhatten-baer@eafwr.on.ca
Community Facilitator

 

Desiree Hinsperger

ext. 309
desiree.hinsperger@eafwr.on.ca
Community Facilitator

 

Julie Mainland

ext. 306
julie.mainland@eafwr.on.ca
Community Facilitator

Gryphon Sibbald

ext. 307
gryphon.sibbald@eafwr.on.ca
Community Facilitator